Ruling A Few Unown G Questions

ThePokemonProfessor

Mommy, I lol'ed my pants...
Member
1. I have an Unown G attached to my active Uxie, my opponent uses Pachirisu GE's 2nd attack, does it discard Unown G or is it prevented by Unown G?

2. I have Unown G attached to my active Heatran Lv.X, my opponent uses Machamp SF's Take Down attack, Does it fail and do no damage or do the nomral 40?

3. I have an Unown G attached to my benched Claydol, my opponent uses Shadow Room and selects Claydol, does Unown G prevent the damage seince it's not damage it's placeing 6 damage counters on him?

Bonus not about Unown G: With cards like Looker's, Giratina, TGW, etc. Do you have to draw at least one card or can you draw none?

Thanks! :D
 
ThePokemonProfessor said:
1. I have an Unown G attached to my active Uxie, my opponent uses Pachirisu GE's 2nd attack, does it discard Unown G or is it prevented by Unown G? Unown G is not discarded, but the Unown G's in your hand are, and it still does extra damage.

2. I have Unown G attached to my active Heatran Lv.X, my opponent uses Machamp SF's Take Down attack, Does it fail and do no damage or do the nomral 40?1st, it's Take Out, not down. :p But it is prevented, because it says "this attack knocks that Pokémon out INSTEAD" not "you MAY KO this Pokémon instead."

3. I have an Unown G attached to my benched Claydol, my opponent uses Shadow Room and selects Claydol, does Unown G prevent the damage seince it's not damage it's placeing 6 damage counters on him?Yes, Unown G prevents this since Damage Counters technically are not doing damage, they are considered another effect.

Bonus not about Unown G: With cards like Looker's, Giratina, TGW, etc. Do you have to draw at least one card or can you draw none? If it says "up to" you have to draw at least 1 card.

Thanks! :D You're Welcome.
 
1: Pachirisu will certainly do 40 damage (thats for sure). EDIT: I just checked my Rules Compendium regarding this. You do 40 damage, but Unown G prevents itself from being discarded. Because Unown G isnt discarded, you do not look at your opponent's hand.

2: A Level X retains the previous' level evolutionary stage, so Heatran Lv X is an unevolved Pokemon (basic). Therefore, Take Out's effect would trigger, doing no damage and causing instant KO. The instant KO effect is prevent by G and no damage is done. (eat that, Macheap)

3: Yes, Unown G prevents putting damage counters since its an effect, not damage.

Bonus: You're forced to draw at least 1. "Up to n", in the Pokemon TCG rules, is usually choosing from 1 to n. I also believe that you can draw 1, choose whether or not to draw 1 more, and so on until you stop or draw the maximum.

Hope it helped,
Vini

EDIT: Ninja'ed.
 
Okay, I have another question, Ryphirior DP's Rock Wrecker attack says it's not effected my W&R, does Unown G prevent that effect?

Thanks for the awnswers!

^ BTW, you are correct about being able to draw 1, and decide if you want more, They announced it at Worlds this year.
 
No; that's an effect of the attack itself, not an effect cause by the attack to the Defending Pokémon. It would ignore Weakness and Resistance as usual.
 
No unown G's are discarded from your hand because they are NOT tools at that point in time so they cannot be discarded this only matters in the case of Unown E and Q
 
ShineVini said:
EDIT: I just checked my Rules Compendium regarding this. You do 40 damage, but Unown G prevents itself from being discarded. Because Unown G isnt discarded, you do not look at your opponent's hand.
DarkMagnus, in the case of Pachi's Smash Short, you must apply everything the second sentence says, or do nothing. Therefore, since you cannot discard Unown G from the target Pokemon, you do not look at your opponent's hand or discard any Unown Gs therein. (However, you still do 40 damage, since the extra damage doesn't count as an effect of an attack.)

Yes, this ruling is in the Compendium. I know it's there and I've seen it myself.
 
DNA please notice the second half of my statement, dont worry i know what i am talking about i know the compendium well, most head judges such as myself do our best to memorise it. my point was for E and Q

one thing i dont understand is why you didn't qoute me in your post
 
Back
Top