Ruling Can Virizion EX Accelerate Non-Basic Energy

robokayaker

Aspiring Trainer
Member
Virizion EX, shown below, accelerates grass energy as part of emerald slash. The rule text does not state "basic" energy. Can I go into my deck and get a rainbow or prism energy as part of emerald slash calling that energy grass for the moment? That rainbow or prism energy then might go on Darkrai and later be used as Dark energy. Am I within the rules?

virizion-ex-plasma-blast-plb-9-312x434.png


bw73-darkrai.jpg


rainbow-energy-xy-131-312x435.png


prism-energy-next-destinies-nxd-93-312x429.jpg
 
If you read the cards carefully you'll see that the rainbow states "while in play" and prism states "if the Pokemon this card is attached to is a basic Pokemon"

THEN they provide all types of energy. This first part for both states that "this card provides <colorless> energy" unless the other conditions are met. In the discard pile, deck or hand is not considered in play.

So nope, can't emerald slash for these. They CAN however work with Dark Cloak once rainbow is attached to any pokémon or prism is attached to a basic pokemon.
 
Back
Top