Ruling Clefable

Bix

Insector07
Member
k if i use Clefable from jungle and metronome on an Electivire from SW and use discharge, and i have lighting energy to use the attack, do i have to discard card them still eventhough clefables attack says "Metronome copies that attack except for its energy costs and anything else required in order to use that attack, such as discarding energy cards."?? this came up in a battle jus want to clarify
 
This is a really good question. I looked up the Compendium, and I got this:
Q. How much damage would Metronome do when the damage of the attack copied is dependent on the amount of Energy discarded?
A. Ok. Here we go: the Metronome attack copies the attack and negates the cost (a.k.a. the Energy cost of the attack). However on cards like Blastoise and any other card that has any added attack bonus for extra Energy or attached cards you have to follow those rules as normal. Example: if Clefable copied Hydro Pump he would do 40 points of damage unless he had extra Water Energy on him, the same holds true for discarding for extra effects. (Feb 24 WotC Chat)
In the case of this attack, you discard all Lightning Energy attached to Clefable. Then you flip a coin for each energy discarded, and do 50 damage for each heads.

Yet, this is still an interesting question. If I get a chance to ask someone personally about the change in text of Metronome, I will.
 
^

wrong. in the case of electivire, it would do nothing because clefable says you don't discard energy and therefore can't flip for damage because electivire says flip for each energy discarded, but clefable didn't discard any energy.
 
^Don't you think I thought of that when I wrote this? In any case, I think what this question really needs is an official answer. Hence why I looked at the Compendium and drew that conclusion, but still, the removal of that clause is a big impact.
 
Back
Top