Ruling Ditto vs Garbodor

DNA

Goodbye, everyone. I'll miss you all.
Advanced Member
Member
So let's say I have a Ditto on my Bench who is quietly minding his own business. To speed things up a little I use his Transform Ability right away and play down a Basic onto him. (Let's say it's a Tynamo.)

Suddenly, tragedy strikes! A Garbodor has appeared with a Tool attached! This foul creature spells nothing but trouble for Ditto and his comrades!

Does the Tynamo stay as my Tynamo, or will Garbodor negate the Transform Ability and force Tynamo to be discarded back into Ditto? And does this effect extended even if I evolve the Tynamo into Eelektrik? Would I have to discard them both if Garbodor enters play?

The Ditto in distress cries help from its tower! Will no one come to rescue it? Heroes all, I beg your aid!
 
When Ditto transforms into Tynamo, it is no longer a Ditto, it is a Tynamo. It says on the Ditto card "This Pokémon becomes that Pokémon". So there is no longer a Ditto using the Transform ability. if that makes sense.

However, if Garbodor comes into play BEFORE you play the Tynamo down, you may not place Tynamo down on the Ditto until you get lucky and draw a Tool Scrapper.
 
Back
Top