Ruling Pinsir ND and DCE's

JuStuPro

Aspiring Trainer
Member
Hey, I just looked on the ND Scans again and when I saw Pinsir I was confused.
It's attack Power Pinch says "Flip 2 coins. For each heads discard an Energy attached to the Defending Pokémon."
Now, what happens if the Defending Pokémon has a DCE attached to it and you only flip one head?
Can you discard the DCE or can't you discard anything at all?
It neither says Energy Card nor basic Energy, so whats to do in this situation?
 
It's the writing that's always important: "For each heads discard an Energy "
"an energy"
Get rid of an energy card, in this case DCE. Since you flipped and got a heads, even one, and your opponent conveniently has some sort of energy, go ahead and have it removed.

Black and White has changed a bit of the language used from previous years.
 
To add:

Whenever it says "discard an Energy attached to the Defending Pokemon", assume it means discard an Energy card. If you flip 2 heads with Power Pinch, you can actually discard 2 DCE cards if you want.
 
Back
Top