Ruling Re-evolving after being Time-Hollowed

Captain Oats

I'm worse than you at TCG.
Member
If I use Jirachi CoL's attack Time Hollow, and devolve 3 of my opponents pokemon sending them back to his/her hand, can they immediately evolve their pokemon again next turn? Or would they have to wait a turn since the new basic/stage 1 they are left with has been out for 0 turns once their turn starts?

Example:
Opponent Turn 1: Opponent evolves into Charizard.
Player Turn 1: Jirachi uses Time Hollow on Charizard.
Opponent Turn 2: Evolve straight back into Charizard from Charmeleon, or must they leave Charmeleon out for 1 turn before evolving back into Charizard since it is "new" to the field?
Player Turn 2: Retreat Jirachi, PWN Charmeleon.

PK_COL_11.jpg


I would think that they would have to wait at least one turn before evolving again because of how pokemon react when they evolve. The pokemon must be in play for 1 full turn before evolving at all, and when they do evolve, all conditions are cleared, more or less creating a new pokemon entirely, and this "new" pokemon created from devolving has not been on the turn for 1 full turn. The fact that they had been played for 1 full turn previously shouldn't matter.
 
They don't need to wait a turn at all.

A Pokemon cannot evolve on the same turn that it's evolved or devolved, yes, but think of this: Time Hollow happens on your opponent's turn. Then it's your turn, and you can evolve them right away again if you want, because it's not the same turn.

People use Time Hollow for devolving things with Rare Candy, OR for devolving something and knocking it out immediately due to the excess damage.
 
Back
Top