Ruling Regirock LA - 'Regi Cycle'

heyboy963

I am NOT cute!
Member
I was building a deck using Regirock from LA when I took a closer look at its power.

It states this:

Regi Cycle - Once during your turn (before you attack), if you have a {F} Energy card in your discard pile, you may discard 2 cards from your hand. Then attach a {F} Energy card from your hand to Regirock. This power can't be used if Regirock is affected by a special Condition.

I re-read it, and found it stated that you needed the {F} Energy in your discard to use this power, prior to discarding your cards.

Would this mean that you can't use the effect, discard the {F} energy as one of the two cards, then attach the same one if you don't already have the energy in your discard?
 
You are not allowed to discard whatsoever, if you don't have a {F} energy in the discard pile already.
However, if you do discard, and 1 of the cards is a {F} energy, you can choose to attach the card you just discarded.

Junk Arm works the exact same way - you can't discard unless there's a Trainer (except Junk Arm) in the discard pile to begin with, but if you discard 2 cards, 1 of which is a (not Junk Arm) trainer, you can pick up the card you just discarded.
 
Back
Top