Ruling Absol G?

The Fallen One

COWER, MORTALS
Member
Now, I know that a ruling won't be officially out until the true translation is out, but I'd like to know...

Absol G LV.59 - Darkness - HP70
Basic Pokemon (SP)

[D] Feint Attack: Does 20 damage to 1 of your opponent’s Pokemon, ignoring Weakness, Resistance, and any effects on that Pokemon.
[D][C][C] Message of Ruin: Return all Energy attached to Absol G to your hand. At the end of your opponent’s next turn, the Pokemon that was hit by this attack is Knocked Out.

Weakness: Fighting (x2)
Resistance: Psychic (-20)
Retreat Cost: 1
Set Number: 64

Message of Ruin has some weird text. It says, "At the end of your opponent's next turn, the Pokemon that was hit by this attack is Knocked Out."

My question is, is this an effect that would go away after it was benched? Or does the specific text make it no matter what?
 
FireMeowth said:
Such effects usually go away if the target is Benched, iirc.

That's what I think...but the current translation says that "The Pokemon that was hit by this attack is knocked out." It's rather confusing, so I should probably just wait for the Japanese ruling.
 
It is true that we won't know until the translation is out. FireMeowth is right that the general rule of thumb is that all effects of attacks go away on the bench. However, if we go to a ruling on Gengar's Fainting Spell vs. Pokemon that switch to the bench upon being attacked (such as Horsea's Reverse Thrust), we see that Fainting Spell still hits as long as the attacking Pokemon is still in play. It is a Power over an attack, but you never know. Just putting that out there.
 
It's just like Jirachi - LA.
But yeah, we will have to wait for any specific wording that may be added to the English version so don't expect anything of the Jpn. translation just yet.
 
^I don't think so...the wording is funky. It doesn't say defending or any equivalent. It says the affected pokemon...nothing about switching or defending or anything.

I guess it's just sit back and wait for Japan's ruling.
 
I think it's a direct translation - which would explain it being a little funny. You see it all the time with translations. The Translators don't change it to fit things that have similar attacks preceding it because that would be assuming things.
 
Taylor45 said:
I think it's a direct translation - which would explain it being a little funny. You see it all the time with translations. The Translators don't change it to fit things that have similar attacks preceding it because that would be assuming things.

Yeah. I hope that the wording is correct, and it insta-kills with nothing to stop it except Unown G...but I think that this thread should just die and we wait for POTF to be released and the ruling come out.
 
Back
Top