Ruling Basic Ruling Question, Can Machamp "take out" a LVLX SP pokemon???

RE: Basic Ruling Question, Can Machamp "take out" a LVLX SP pokemon?

Since you are new this is what machamp doesn't and does do

Can take out any pokemon that is a Basic even if it is a basic Lv.x.

Canot take out a pokemon with Unknown G attched

Cannot take out Toxicroak G because of it's body it also cannot take out a rapidash even though it is not a basic you cannot do any damage to it. It is a effect of an attack.

There is Machamp's Take out for you.

T
 
RE: Basic Ruling Question, Can Machamp "take out" a LVLX SP pokemon?

Thank you very much for the help and quick response!
 
RE: Basic Ruling Question, Can Machamp "take out" a LVLX SP pokemon?

Tristan said:
Cannot take out Toxicroak G because of it's body it also cannot take out a rapidash even though it is not a basic you cannot do any damage to it. It is a effect of an attack.

you're a lil' off there chico...while you are correct in saying Rapidash doesn't get auto-KO'd by Take Out due to not being a unevolved pokemon (in most cases, that is), but Rapidash's poke-body prevents all effects of an attack, including damage, from "SP Pokemon"...Machamp isn't an SP pokemon, so Rapidash would still take the 40dmg that Take Out does
 
RE: Basic Ruling Question, Can Machamp "take out" a LVLX SP pokemon?

qnetykz said:
you're a lil' off there chico...while you are correct in saying Rapidash doesn't get auto-KO'd by Take Out due to not being a unevolved pokemon (in most cases, that is), but Rapidash's poke-body prevents all effects of an attack, including damage, from "SP Pokemon"...Machamp isn't an SP pokemon, so Rapidash would still take the 40dmg that Take Out does

Opps my bad I thought it was like the Toxicroak G I feel dumb X.X

T
 
RE: Basic Ruling Question, Can Machamp "take out" a LVLX SP pokemon?

To clarify, LV.X Pokemon always count as the stage below it when it is put in play. (Out of play it does not have a stage per se; it is a 'Level-Up Pokemon'.) For example, Gengar LV.X's evolution stage while in play is 'Stage 2' (because Gengar is below it and Gengar is Stage 2), whereas Luxray GL LV.X's stage while in play is 'Basic' (because Luxray GL, who is below, is Basic). And all SPs are Basics, so yeah.

Machamp's Take Out does 40 damage to Evolved Pokemon, but to unevolved/Basic Pokemon it deals an effect of an attack, in this case, instant KO. So in the case of Toxicroak G, his Poke-Body Anticipation prevents effects of attacks, so that is negated. Basic Pokemon with Unown G attached (because GUARD prevents effects of attacks) also are unaffected by Take Out. (Tristan pretty much nailed it except for the Rapidash-PA bit.)

But in pretty much all other situations, take a prize good sir.
 
RE: Basic Ruling Question, Can Machamp "take out" a LVLX SP pokemon?

You should however know that there is a difference between unevolved, and basic. Stage 2 pokemon brought back from chomp X would still get K.O'd because it never evolved. On the flip side, if a basic pikachu evolves from a baby pichu, it doesn't get K.O'd
 
Back
Top