Ruling These are probably stupid questions, but...

Shiny Noctowl

Aspiring Trainer
Member
1. Can you evolve multiple Pokémon on the same turn (for example, evolve a Porygon2 to a Porygon-Z and a Grovyle to a Sceptile)?
2. Can you Level Up a Pokémon on the turn it was played or evolved?
3. To use foreign language cards, you have to have a printout of the English version of the card. I have the Japanese DP5 Porygon-Z Lv. X. The English Porygon-Z Lv. X has different art, so would the printout of that card still be sufficient to use the Japanese one?
 
1. Yes, you can. As long as you didn't just evolve it that turn. (Example: Evolve Treecko into Grovyle and then into Sceptile on the same turn.)
2. No, you cannot. The same rules apply to Lv. X's as they do if you were just evolving. Also, they have to be active. (Unless you're using the Level Max card.)
3. Yes, it would. It's still the same card, just different artwork. It's just like the tin promos. It's still the same card as from the set, just with different artwork.

Hope that helped. :)
 
Electro-sama is wrong about your third question.
To play a foreign language card, the card must have been released in English with the SAME ARTWORK. IF you want to play in tournaments with them, you'll have to get a print out from the Go Pokemon Card-Dex. NOT A SCAN FROM POKEBEACH. You MUST have the card in English as a reference OR a print out from the official website.
 
Clarifying on question 1, you cannot evolve a pokemon on the same turn you played it down. If you have the stadium Broken Time-Space, it allows you to bypass all rules of Evolution. However, you still have to wait a turn to level up.
 
Same with Rare Candy, from a Basic to Stage 1 or Stage 2.

dmaster out.
 
Since people were giving conflicting answers for question 3, I looked on go-pokemon.com, and the 2009 tournament rules say:

Players may use non-local language cards in their decks, provided they meet the
following requirements:
• All of the cards in the player’s deck have been released, in English, in the United
States and are legal for use according to the event’s format restrictions
• The player has an English or local-language version of the card, outside of his or
her deck, for reference, OR the player has a copy of the official Pokémon TCG
Card-Dex containing the card’s text, which can be downloaded at from the
Tournament Rules and Resources page. Card scans are not an acceptable method
of translation.

Therefore, Rivallz is right that the official Card Dex must be used rather than a scan, but Electro-sama is right that the artwork doesn't matter (it just requires the card to have been released in English, not that they have the same art).
 
That's not true...
The first bullet says the card must have been released.
How can you play a Promo Palkia Lv.X that's from Japan if it was never released?
It's the same card, but different artwork.
I'll back my statement up in a second.
 
Shiny Noctowl said:
1. Can you evolve multiple Pokémon on the same turn (for example, evolve a Porygon2 to a Porygon-Z and a Grovyle to a Sceptile)?
2. Can you Level Up a Pokémon on the turn it was played or evolved?
3. To use foreign language cards, you have to have a printout of the English version of the card. I have the Japanese DP5 Porygon-Z Lv. X. The English Porygon-Z Lv. X has different art, so would the printout of that card still be sufficient to use the Japanese one?


1. Yes. You just can't evolve the same one twice under normal circumstances.

2. No.

3. No, the artwork has to be released in English.
I cite this, taken from the Tournament Rules: http://www.go-pokemon.com/op/tournaments/docs/2008-2009/Tournament_Rules.pdf


14.1.6. Unreleased Cards
From time to time players will acquire cards from a new set prior to its regular release
date, usually via a Prerelease or the Japanese equivalent of the set. These cards may not
be used in sanctioned tournaments until the regular release date of the set, as outlined in
Section 16, with one exception. Cards that are already tournament legal which have been
reprinted in an unreleased set, or the Japanese equivalent, may be used as long they are
easily identifiable as a reprinted card. This is typically only an issue when a reprinted
card receives new art, though other factors may create a similar issue. These cards should
always be played with the most recent wording of the tournament legal version of the
card.
Players who are unsure as to whether an unreleased card meets the exception above
should check with the Head Judge prior to the start of the event.
14.1.7.
 
Shiny Noctowl said:
1. Can you evolve multiple Pokémon on the same turn (for example, evolve a Porygon2 to a Porygon-Z and a Grovyle to a Sceptile)?

Yes, as long as they have both been in play for a turn already, thus allowing you to evolve.

2. Can you Level Up a Pokémon on the turn it was played or evolved?

No, you cannot. You HAVE to wait a turn.

3. To use foreign language cards, you have to have a printout of the English version of the card. I have the Japanese DP5 Porygon-Z Lv. X. The English Porygon-Z Lv. X has different art, so would the printout of that card still be sufficient to use the Japanese one?

They HAVE to have the same art. This is because different art may indicate a different card to some people. Its mainly a precaution really against rulesharks on tournaments where there arent a lot of judges who have knowledge about the Japanese cards. Therefore, the specific art must already exist in English cards if you want to use the Japanese card.

Also, the only stupid question is an unasked question.
 
Vergere said:
3. No, the artwork has to be released in English.
I cite this, taken from the Tournament Rules: http://www.go-pokemon.com/op/tournaments/docs/2008-2009/Tournament_Rules.pdf


14.1.6. Unreleased Cards
From time to time players will acquire cards from a new set prior to its regular release
date, usually via a Prerelease or the Japanese equivalent of the set. These cards may not
be used in sanctioned tournaments until the regular release date of the set, as outlined in
Section 16, with one exception. Cards that are already tournament legal which have been
reprinted in an unreleased set, or the Japanese equivalent, may be used as long they are
easily identifiable as a reprinted card. This is typically only an issue when a reprinted
card receives new art, though other factors may create a similar issue. These cards should
always be played with the most recent wording of the tournament legal version of the
card.
Players who are unsure as to whether an unreleased card meets the exception above
should check with the Head Judge prior to the start of the event.

That's referring to cards from future sets that haven't been released in English (for example, Bonds to the End of Time), not cards that are printed with different artwork in America.





Please see http://bulbapedia.bulbagarden.net/wiki/Porygon-Z_LV.X_(Majestic_Dawn_100)#Trivia
 
Shiny Noctowl said:
Vergere said:
3. No, the artwork has to be released in English.
I cite this, taken from the Tournament Rules: http://www.go-pokemon.com/op/tournaments/docs/2008-2009/Tournament_Rules.pdf


14.1.6. Unreleased Cards
From time to time players will acquire cards from a new set prior to its regular release
date, usually via a Prerelease or the Japanese equivalent of the set. These cards may not
be used in sanctioned tournaments until the regular release date of the set, as outlined in
Section 16, with one exception. Cards that are already tournament legal which have been
reprinted in an unreleased set, or the Japanese equivalent, may be used as long they are
easily identifiable as a reprinted card. This is typically only an issue when a reprinted
card receives new art
, though other factors may create a similar issue. These cards should
always be played with the most recent wording of the tournament legal version of the
card.
Players who are unsure as to whether an unreleased card meets the exception above
should check with the Head Judge prior to the start of the event.

That's referring to cards from future sets that haven't been released in English (for example, Bonds to the End of Time), not cards that are printed with different artwork in America.

Reread emphazised part. kthxbai.
 
Back
Top