Ruling Walrein's Ice Bind

SteelCrazy

Questing for a steel deck
Member
When I use Ice Bind to KO the defending Pokemon, would my opponent still have to discard a card to prevent his new Pokemon from being paralyzed?
 
No. The effect of Ice Bind is totally on the Pokemon that is KO'ed. If another Pokemon is brought up, than the effect of Ice Bind does no effect it because it didn't take damage.

I think.
 
Just a confirmation - Walrein's attack says that in order to prevent their active Pokemon from being paralyzed, your opponent must discard a card from their hand. If you knock out the defending Pokemon, there is no threat of possible paralyzation for your opponent, so they do not have to discard a card from their hand. Gliscor was spot on.
 
Back
Top